There is a default 500GB limit in storage space of the pictures you upload. In your account is specified the amount you currently have free. The pictures must be touristic photos that may help other travelers.
One you have uploaded a photo you can download the original photo, so in case you lost the data of your hard drive you can recover the photos. You won’t be able to download the original photos of other users.